naughty doggie

Talk about your dogs, seek advice and share experiences

Moderators: CarolynM, janrobinson

gking

naughty doggie

Post by gking »

I need advice what to do with my 3 yo goldie Barney
he is a lovely dog very calm obedient and well behaved at home (tho barks at people who walk past the house) the problem is when he is out he tends to bully younger and more submissive dogs rolling them over and standing over them growling. he doesn't hurt them but it obviously scares them and is very embarrassing this isn't every day but about every 2-3 weeks and I can't predict when it's going to happen.
at 3 years old I don't whether this is a hormone problem or behaviour and do I need to take the ultimate step and have him neutered :2005: :2378:
ann1

Re: naughty doggie

Post by ann1 »

I'm no expert, but it sounds to me liked learned behaviour - and what has been learned can be unlearned!

I recently adopted a lovely 8yr old male from Jan. He's a typical fabulous goldie, but I soon discovered that he was incapable of walking past another dog whilst on the lead, without lunging at them and barking furiously. He would never bite or fight, but it was quite worrying; other owners certainly didn't like it and it made me anxious to avoid other dogs en route to where I could let him free-run. Even then. he would sometimes run up to other dogs when off the lead and bark at them and skip round them quite noisily for a few moments before losing interest.

So I contacted a local dog trainer with a good reputation and to cut a long story short, we had 5 lessons with him and bingo, perfect behaviour! It took a lot of effort between sessions to maintain what I learned, but it has paid off. I can take him anywhere now on or off the lead and not worry. In fact everyone loves him on our walks -he's quite a character and sooo handsome!